07 August 2009

Fancy Dress and College Mess



I haven't been writing enough these days. My life is changing so rapidly, I'm moving house (the family home is moving), awaiting Leaving Cert results, have a boyfriend,preparing for a job interview by learning about wine varieties- which is surprisingly interesting btw,learning to drive again, looking for student accomodation and sorting out a college grant too at the same time keeping all my friends and family happy. Oh, did I forget my dazzling social life? Well that has pretty much been turned down multiple notches! No money for clothes or taxis or alcohol(well if I get this job it means a 30% discount chi-ching..or should that be clink-clink?).


Money woes aside seeing as a good friend's birthday is coming up which is an honourable excuse to 'borrow' money from my Mam I'm going to a fancy dress 21st tomorrow night.


Fancy dress parties fill me with dread. Im always the one in the glaringly obvious DIY costume. I have good intentions to be the best dressed there but when it boils down to it, it's just too much effort. They are touted as these amazing funny occasions but I think assessing somebody's 'normal' style far more insightful. Since fancy dress costumes are only a reflection of how bothered a person is I am starting to get excited about college and the non-uniform dynamic.


A platform on which to convey my inner personality! Yeah right, in reality I know it will be a case of waking up with last night's make-up on and sniffing the clothes strewn about to see which pair of jeans is least dirty and pulling them on. Hhmm yes also I do not want to get fat in college. Its scary. In saying that I'm guessing that most of my calories will come from alcohol and I'm not a great cook so my diet will probably subsist of fruit,soup,tea and ryvita. Also might increase my smoking status from 'social smoker' to 'full-time'. I was looking at thefashionspot.com the other day -my new obssession, although I'm not a member-akin to being not cool enough at school to sit in the cool hang-out spot or use the swings. Some of the threads there are highly inspiring!! I've decided for college I really really want to get a leather satchel.


Like Chung/Mulberry stylee. Since I'm poor the cheapest satchel I found that looks alright is this gem from..wait for it Littlewoods hah, anyway behold http://www.littlewoodsireland.ie/rf/lwi/p.do/women/accessories/bags/leather-front-pocket-buckle-satchel?Nao=12&groupId=597975507&Nu=pca_id&SNtk=&Np=1&SN=151+4294484642+85+4294966371&Ntt=597975507&D=597975507&Ntk=group_search&Dx=mode%2bmatchall&thisprod=597647577&N=151+4294484642+85+4294966371&Nty=1&Mis_item_id=15&Mis_item_loc_id=1&product=597647577&pageSize=12


Sorry for the big link. The leather or should I say pleather looks very fake but I don't have the funds. I was also considering getting a Longchamp Le Pliage bag you customise your own colours (bear with me) which admittedly sounds naff but apparently they are very good for carrying books and allsorts. The bag below is similar
except the one I was looking at was black with a navy stripe or vice versa can't remember.
Can somebody actually clear up if the rule about navy and black still exists?! If so, sentence me to fashion jail because it's my favourite combo. Especially on jumpers and cardigans.

I feel this post has entered rant territory but I suppose since nobody reads it (save for the two comments in my entire blog history-thank you) it's nobodies business!
I always think too that, reporting on the latest celebrity news e.g Mischa going back to work-too soon? etc. is pointless in this type of medium because celebrity news has become front page news and the likelihood of somebody happening upon my page without hearing about MJ's death or similar is slim to none. So I will continue with my own rants and blurbs.

No comments: