![]() |
| Carey Mulligan as Jenny in 'An Education' |
Exhibit A:
If I ever became famous (not that I want to be-at all) I would like to be her kind of famous. Revered for her talent, humble (seemingly anyway) and naturally gorgeous.
Exhibit B:
Her style. The fact that her red-carpet choices are obviously constructed by a stylist makes her even cooler for some reason. Like that she is serious about acting - and not becoming just tabloid fodder. Carey seems like the type of person that doesn't lose sleep over what the papers say about her latest outfit. She isn't a threat, rather somebody to aspire to be like rather than vilify. She's just so... nice. And how can you not like her after seeing the candids of her and Shia together, gazing into each others eyes? They are definitely the cutest couple. Well, not anymore but that doesn't matter.
If she starts shagging half of Hollywood now that would be a problem for me. Carey's appeal lies in her good-girl image. Dare I say she is the new Keira Knightley? I will have to go and see who outshines who (if even) in their next movie together, out soon in Irish cinemas. "Never Let Me Go".
![]() |
| Carey Mulligan at the London premiere of 'Never Let Me Go' |
I put this new girl crush to a close friend. We usually agree on GCs (apart from her ardent hatred for Katy Perry but I'm not mad about her either) and she doesn't see the fuss about Carey.
I couldn't be the only one?? Especially since my next target is anti-everything that CM stands for.
Low and behold Ms. Megan Fox.
Now this is going to contradict the reasons why I love Carey but it's not Carey so I don't think it matters. And before you roll your eyelids at the mere suggestion that Megan is crush worthy hear me out, or rather read me out.
Exhibit A:
She's shit hot. Apologies for the bluntness but I'm not writing a column for The Independent here. I know that plastic surgery has been very involved in Megan's transformation from child actress to mega star, but that gives us ordinaries hope! If she can go from average to absoloutely stunning well can't we all? She's tattooed which I think suits her and is different to all the blonde perfect 'butter wouldn't melt' actresses. Plus I'm not jealous of her, which is why I think a lot of women don't like her, envious maybe but not jealous. Differentiate.
Exhibit B:
You never see pap photos of her looking coked-out and she's been dating (albeit on and off) Brian Austin Green of 90210 'fame' for ages now. I believe they're married. Her body is literally perfection and who cares if she has fake boobs, she seems comfortable in her skin and her daytime attire is very low-key. Flip-flops, gym trousers/jeans,t-shirts are usually what she is photographed in. She also doesn't seem to starve herself. The gym clothes suggest she works at it. Fair play. I find that the frail/'trying hard to look skinny' look really off-putting. This is why I don't fancy Alexa anymore. Don't get me wrong Megan is probably nothing over a UK size 8, (if even) it's just she doesn't look like a strong gust of wind will blow her over. I basically would love to look like her. And sure if it's all fake well then where's the threat in that?
To conclude, I think the reason why I like the two of them however different they may appear is that they both seem self-assured and confident which is definitely something to aspire to.
Lara
x



