22 May 2009

Whatever Happened To: Gap Ads



The Gap

The Gap Inc. awh Gap or 'The Gap' has kind of fallen off the radar in recent years. Their ads used to be amazing my personal fave was the SJP/Lenny Kravitz one.


Yes the Gap ads were iconic. Christmas time brought festive ads and they used celebrity models in a playful, fun way (apart from that Joss Stone monstrosity-bad move Gap).
Gap is famed for it's 'basics'. It's strengths do not lie in it's dynamic designs- you went to Gap for wardrobe staples- the white shirt, black capris, vests etc. Yet what Gap lacked for in creativity they made up for in their ad campaigns.
Unfortunately, this was a double-edged sword. Heavy spending on promotion and an unfortunate child labour claim meant the nineties brand fell hard. According to my dear friend wikipedia 'Due to lack of a clear message, it has been alleged that Gap has lost contact with its core customers which the company is attempting to win back. Gap is the only national retailer to spend more than 2% of its marketing budget for online marketing'. Ouch.
Interest waned in favour younger,cooler brands like H&M who opened it's first US store in 2000. Many Gap chains have closed. They have had a recent change of management and taken over Banana Republic which is gaining strength among consumers.
Gap Spring/Summer '09 Ad Campaign

Yet all is not lost, Patrick Robinson Gap's head of design says, for spring GAP is all about optimism, bringing on bright colors, stripes, layering with colors and khakis is big this season- different proportions, pant leg and using materials. The spring/summer ‘09 campaign features models Suvi, Shannon, Anja, Sasha Pivovarova, Jessica Stam, Sessilee, Abby Lee, Editha, Du Juan and others. It seems Gap are trying to tap into the twenties/thirties age bracket and the ads aren't bad. But let's be honest a static photo is never going to be as exciting as an unbeatable combination of music and fashion which was so integral to Gap's image. I really miss those adverts they were just so, cool. The past couple years they have taken the artsy, classy route choosing photography over cinematography I recall seeing Anouck Lepere and Jefferson Hack in some Gap ads in black and white wearing their favourite Gap item alongside others.
I'm glad to see they've returned to colour though and let's hope we'll be seeing some new adverts on our tv screens soon.
Just thinking about who they could feature.. to get into the tween market and be current, yet stay true to their Gap identity, an idea could be old/new. Like Miley Cyrus and Annie Lennox, Taylor Swift and Shania Twain or Lady Gaga and David Bowie type duets. Incorporate the past into the present and into the future. Ooh they could pop in designers and models of bygone eras too.
Can you imagine Kate Moss and Lara Stone dancing to Blur and Black Kids?? I'd die happy.
Who would U like to see in a Gap ad?

Girl Crush


Natasha Poly
Okay I have to admit quite a lazy post today folks, but can we just take a minute to worship the powerhouse that is Natasha Poly?? I've had my eye on her for years. I think the fact that she hasn't really hit mainstream in the same way that say, Agyness has, has really done wonders for her longevity. Fronting campaigns such as Gucci last season alongside Freja and Raquel and woah woah woah just clicked over at wikipedia (I know I know not the most reliable source but it's 1.25am on a school night) -she's had nineteen Vogue covers. Granted half are probably the lesser spotted Russian/Chinese Vogues but still not bad going! She is also one of Meisel's muses so you know that's going to be a major advantage. Carine Roitfeld put her on the Paris Vogue (French Vogue?) cover twice consecutively in 2004. According to wiki "Poly earns $70,000 a day shooting advertisements and $28,000 per runway show." Phew.
Natasha is also one of those models you know works hard. I think it's a Soviet thing. You know, very professional, gets the job done attitude. Unlike the N.Campbell's of this world she doesn't give off a diva attitude. She has been a Victoria's Secret Angel (ugh) and also a regular walker at all the top shows- so versatile also.
She's 5ft 10 perfect for print and runway, pin thin of course. She began her career in 2004 as a tanned brunette and is going from strength to strength career-wise. Oh , and her walk is fiiiierce very signature Poly. Recently, the trooper took time out to have fun at Cannes, her brunette locks are now icy blonde her skin is now pale, she looks completely different from her early days (I actually prefer her as a brunette, but I'm no Karl L so I guess I'll just have to live with it).
Behold Natasha..
At Cannes:Street Style PFW:Vintage Nats:

Which do U prefer??
p.s- I really need to invest in Photoshop. Although I would probably be crap at that too.

20 May 2009

Summer-the idealist's fave season?


So yesterday while ahem, 'researching' on the net I came across http://www.theportmanteau.com/2009/04/feeling-heat.html and I couldn't agree more. Summer is vastly approaching, well technically it is summer now but if you live anywhere near my good self you'll agree that it's not summer until Oxegen kicks off and the kiddies get off for their summer holidays.
Ah good summer, when picnics, barbies and festivals are a regular occurence. When money isn't an issue because our lives are so idyllic and romantic we wouldn't need it anyway and when, to paraphrase theportmanteau we all look like Erin Wasson.

When I try to visualise the next few months I see myself pounding the streets of Naas in fringed sandals/gladiators, denim shorts, a casual tucked in shirt or racer back tank and maybe a bit of plaid. Basically Alexander Wang and Balmain fairies will visit my wardrobe at night and drop off gifts in lieu of crap old clothes I've abandoned- a kind of fashion toothfairy if you like.
If you've ever been over at the model street style at the fashion spot you'll know what I'm talking about. Oh but it's not exclusive to clothes, oh no. I will also have the type of skin that make-up only detracts from and hair that is so fabulously unstyled it would leave Vanessa Traina shaking in her Alaias. Yes, I the eternal idealist can dream.
But, until summer really arrives I will stick with reading Keats and trying to learn Russian on youtube.

Guilty Pleasure Confession: Part Une

The City, MTVs latest 'reality' telly installment

I was sooo excited for this. Whitney was always my favourite in The Hills and I was looking forward to seeing how they would fit DVF into it. I'm surprised Diane Von F allowed the filming at all, I suppose it's publicity. But still kind of uncool no? I mean MTV ain't really the height of fashion.
Anyway, we see Whitney Port of The Hills move to the city to work at DVF and meet her gaggle of new v.good-looking and trendy mates. Her new lurve interest Jay also features in the show. Its clear her wants a bit of publicity for his band (fair enough) but I do think it's going to damage the aul street cred. Incredibly nonchalant, dirty,carefree and hip- Jay (and his beard) play a gig at an uptown fancy bash only to be slated by rich-kid Nevan. They leave in a huff leaving Nevan to come to the conclusion- "What do you expect from the plaid mafia?". That's the USP (thank you LC business) of this show. You get an insight into this bitchy beautiful world. Utter escapism. This is why it is my guilty pleasure numbero un.

p.s- I understand this post is quite out-dated but felt that The City was such a masterpiece it deserved a mention ;)