Hello my non-existent readers!! Hah hah. I write this (compliments of procrastination) in an abyss of numbing self-doubt, if I'm honest. So I got into college- happy, of course, yet altogether guilty at the fact my friend who worked her arse off failed to get into the college she wanted. Whereas I, who spent the year boozing and sleeping, sometimes going into school came out with better grades. Forgive me if this sounds like a backwards-brag, it isn't. Moreover a vent at the shitty reality of life. I guess I'm growing up. There comes a stage in life, when you realise you are not going to become a movie star, extraordinarily beautiful or a complete success. Infact, the height of your fame is your local pub 'liking' your status on facebook, beauty means twenty oufit changes before you leave the house, yet still feeling like a twat upon seeing your reflection in murky car windows and success means, well a lifelong work-in-progress, so to speak. This 'growing-up stage' has hit me smack in the face.
Never before have I understood the concept of drinking to 'escape your feelings'- what a load of toff I once thought, yet now it makes perfect sense. I don't mean to be a depressive bastard in this post. But studying Beckett has opened up my eager, naive eyes to the bleak existence we, in our lives lead. Okay maybe I'm looking too much into it but.. oh god I'm really sounding like a Trinity Orts student now! Hah, anyway yeah life is good, loving my course and the people but after many observations and over-thinking I've found myself asking the question- why do we bother? With work,money,education,booze,drugs,marraige etc? to fill time until we die, that's all.
I would never be this honest about these 'deep' issues if I had not just sunk a large glass of rosé but hey, maybe if everyone was this honest about the reality and truth of adulthood then there would be less disillusioned freshers like myself, wondering why they didn't pick philosophy.
A blog that flirts from fashion and beauty to ranting and raving, and everything inbetween
14 October 2009
02 September 2009
What floats my boat this month
It's getting colder and colder in Ireland but thankfully the in-between seasons dilemma that we're facing is coming to an end.
I'm convinced that I'm cold blooded, seriously, my boyfriend thinks I'm a reptile. But you know what they say cold hands-warm heart. (That's what I tell myself anyway)
Since I'm in this predicament I've been taking pleasure from all things warm and fuzzy these past two weeks. That includes buckets of hot tea (I've been known to drink ten mugs in a five-hour time frame-got no sleep that night) and wine (no explanation needed). By the way, if you read my last post where I mentioned the wine job, I didn't get it. To be honest I was shocked, I thought the interview went great, granted I fluffed some of the questions (Eh "If a customer came in and asked for a full-bodied red what would you recommend?", for example) but I got on with the lady well, and she kept me in for 25 mins which is supposedly a good sign since the window was only for 15 minutes. Also I rarely, if ever, fail at something I try for. Still, it means I'm no longer tied to Naas by means of employment I'll just have to embrace the 'starving student' cliché. Speaking of french phrases (pronouns?adverbs?what ever it may be)I'm doing French in college starting September 28th alongside my beloved Russian. To say I'm intimidated is an understatement.
I'm slightly becoming obssessed with cottage cheese too, it's a wonderfood I'm tellin' ya. It's so versatile that apparently you can go for two months eating cottage cheese for breakfast,lunch and dinner without repeating one meal. It's also gruesomely textured -so fun to freak people out with. It's pretty much pure protein, very low in fat and calories but I would eat it anyway as it's just so darn good.
On the fashion side of things, my wardrobe has faltered due to the economic crisis. I'm stone-broke and I'm afraid all spare cash has been invested in the 'Lara getting drunk' fund. However, with a small pile of cash assigned for college I have my eye on some nice semi-casual dresses like the one above from Topshop. I've been duly informed that the Trinity Arts Block somewhat resembles a fashion parade so not being one to be outdone in the style stakes I am hoping to find some dressyish dresses,boots,thick tights,woolly jumpers and a lovely winter coat. How I do love a good coat.
A word of warning- for those who have no hips, steer clear of 'jeggings'. I bulk bought these little feckers thinking 'Oh how handy'. Wrong wrong wrong.
I thought there was nothing more infuriating that baggy- skinny jeans, well baggy-skinny jeans, you have been outdone. Aside from being atrociously unforgiving, they slide down like a cold beer after a hard days work. Too easily. What's more, since they are technically leggings, there are no eyeholes to put a belt in so it's great crack all round, if you catch my drift.
I've figured I'm rambling and if you've perservered through this very long posts congrats. I want to explain everything on that shambolically amateur polyvore collage I made above but it pretty much explains itself. If you're thinking those pens are to do with my college chat above, you're wrong, because believe it or not, nothing thrills me more than a good stationery shop. I have already made a list of all my proposed purchases. The earmuff pic is because my ears get really sore in cold or windy weather and seeing as I will commuting to college until my grant goes through I should do the right thing and invest in a pair but they are so ridiculously uncool it hurts. Any tips for rocking the earmuff? Leave suggestions below!
Until next time!
Lara

p.s- if anybody is also in Trinity, check out the TCD Miscellany as I'm writing a kind-of Freshers Diary Column the first issue is out 21st September. Should be em..interesting!
16 August 2009
Nuclear Power
Anna Wintour is set to appear on the nightime chatshow David Letterman on the 24th of August. 'Nuclear' Wintour's interview with Barbara Walters was so interesting to watch, so I'm dying to see this one. I especially look forward to the questions he will ask, I'm envisaging some sort of topical recession questions,perhaps the size zero debate, twitter and the internet generation,most definitely 'The Devil Wears Prada' movie and who she thinks are the most stylish people of all time/at present. I wonder how Anna will approach the laid-back setting yet as ever I expect a dignified and professional response to all that Letterman asks. How politics link with fashion would also be something I would imagine being a topic of conversation. I have huge respect for this woman, she is a legend. I will be eying up youtube after, hopefully somebody will upload it for us Europeans! Perhaps one of my favourite virals, this youtube video shows how terrifying the lady is.
'Almost a girl, Almost eats Anna Wintour'And with her namesake as an inspiration I found this winter quote;
The tendinous part of the mind, so to speak, is more developed in winter; the fleshy, in summer. I should say winter had given the bone and sinew to literature, summer the tissues and the blood. ~John Burroughs
Similarly, Anna Wintour can be seen as the backbone of Vogue and well, the fashion industry. Her strength and power is what cements the reputation of the magazine and makes and breaks so many careers.
I look forward to her Letterman appearance hopefully it won't be a case of 'Please bore somebody else with your...questions'!!
07 August 2009
Fancy Dress and College Mess

I haven't been writing enough these days. My life is changing so rapidly, I'm moving house (the family home is moving), awaiting Leaving Cert results, have a boyfriend,preparing for a job interview by learning about wine varieties- which is surprisingly interesting btw,learning to drive again, looking for student accomodation and sorting out a college grant too at the same time keeping all my friends and family happy. Oh, did I forget my dazzling social life? Well that has pretty much been turned down multiple notches! No money for clothes or taxis or alcohol(well if I get this job it means a 30% discount chi-ching..or should that be clink-clink?).
Money woes aside seeing as a good friend's birthday is coming up which is an honourable excuse to 'borrow' money from my Mam I'm going to a fancy dress 21st tomorrow night.
Fancy dress parties fill me with dread. Im always the one in the glaringly obvious DIY costume. I have good intentions to be the best dressed there but when it boils down to it, it's just too much effort. They are touted as these amazing funny occasions but I think assessing somebody's 'normal' style far more insightful. Since fancy dress costumes are only a reflection of how bothered a person is I am starting to get excited about college and the non-uniform dynamic.
A platform on which to convey my inner personality! Yeah right, in reality I know it will be a case of waking up with last night's make-up on and sniffing the clothes strewn about to see which pair of jeans is least dirty and pulling them on. Hhmm yes also I do not want to get fat in college. Its scary. In saying that I'm guessing that most of my calories will come from alcohol and I'm not a great cook so my diet will probably subsist of fruit,soup,tea and ryvita. Also might increase my smoking status from 'social smoker' to 'full-time'. I was looking at thefashionspot.com the other day -my new obssession, although I'm not a member-akin to being not cool enough at school to sit in the cool hang-out spot or use the swings. Some of the threads there are highly inspiring!! I've decided for college I really really want to get a leather satchel.
Like Chung/Mulberry stylee. Since I'm poor the cheapest satchel I found that looks alright is this gem from..wait for it Littlewoods hah, anyway behold http://www.littlewoodsireland.ie/rf/lwi/p.do/women/accessories/bags/leather-front-pocket-buckle-satchel?Nao=12&groupId=597975507&Nu=pca_id&SNtk=&Np=1&SN=151+4294484642+85+4294966371&Ntt=597975507&D=597975507&Ntk=group_search&Dx=mode%2bmatchall&thisprod=597647577&N=151+4294484642+85+4294966371&Nty=1&Mis_item_id=15&Mis_item_loc_id=1&product=597647577&pageSize=12
Sorry for the big link. The leather or should I say pleather looks very fake but I don't have the funds. I was also considering getting a Longchamp Le Pliage bag you customise your own colours (bear with me) which admittedly sounds naff but apparently they are very good for carrying books and allsorts. The bag below is similar
Money woes aside seeing as a good friend's birthday is coming up which is an honourable excuse to 'borrow' money from my Mam I'm going to a fancy dress 21st tomorrow night.
Fancy dress parties fill me with dread. Im always the one in the glaringly obvious DIY costume. I have good intentions to be the best dressed there but when it boils down to it, it's just too much effort. They are touted as these amazing funny occasions but I think assessing somebody's 'normal' style far more insightful. Since fancy dress costumes are only a reflection of how bothered a person is I am starting to get excited about college and the non-uniform dynamic.
A platform on which to convey my inner personality! Yeah right, in reality I know it will be a case of waking up with last night's make-up on and sniffing the clothes strewn about to see which pair of jeans is least dirty and pulling them on. Hhmm yes also I do not want to get fat in college. Its scary. In saying that I'm guessing that most of my calories will come from alcohol and I'm not a great cook so my diet will probably subsist of fruit,soup,tea and ryvita. Also might increase my smoking status from 'social smoker' to 'full-time'. I was looking at thefashionspot.com the other day -my new obssession, although I'm not a member-akin to being not cool enough at school to sit in the cool hang-out spot or use the swings. Some of the threads there are highly inspiring!! I've decided for college I really really want to get a leather satchel.
Like Chung/Mulberry stylee. Since I'm poor the cheapest satchel I found that looks alright is this gem from..wait for it Littlewoods hah, anyway behold http://www.littlewoodsireland.ie/rf/lwi/p.do/women/accessories/bags/leather-front-pocket-buckle-satchel?Nao=12&groupId=597975507&Nu=pca_id&SNtk=&Np=1&SN=151+4294484642+85+4294966371&Ntt=597975507&D=597975507&Ntk=group_search&Dx=mode%2bmatchall&thisprod=597647577&N=151+4294484642+85+4294966371&Nty=1&Mis_item_id=15&Mis_item_loc_id=1&product=597647577&pageSize=12
Sorry for the big link. The leather or should I say pleather looks very fake but I don't have the funds. I was also considering getting a Longchamp Le Pliage bag you customise your own colours (bear with me) which admittedly sounds naff but apparently they are very good for carrying books and allsorts. The bag below is similar
except the one I was looking at was black with a navy stripe or vice versa can't remember.
Can somebody actually clear up if the rule about navy and black still exists?! If so, sentence me to fashion jail because it's my favourite combo. Especially on jumpers and cardigans.
I feel this post has entered rant territory but I suppose since nobody reads it (save for the two comments in my entire blog history-thank you) it's nobodies business!
I always think too that, reporting on the latest celebrity news e.g Mischa going back to work-too soon? etc. is pointless in this type of medium because celebrity news has become front page news and the likelihood of somebody happening upon my page without hearing about MJ's death or similar is slim to none. So I will continue with my own rants and blurbs.
Can somebody actually clear up if the rule about navy and black still exists?! If so, sentence me to fashion jail because it's my favourite combo. Especially on jumpers and cardigans.
I feel this post has entered rant territory but I suppose since nobody reads it (save for the two comments in my entire blog history-thank you) it's nobodies business!
I always think too that, reporting on the latest celebrity news e.g Mischa going back to work-too soon? etc. is pointless in this type of medium because celebrity news has become front page news and the likelihood of somebody happening upon my page without hearing about MJ's death or similar is slim to none. So I will continue with my own rants and blurbs.
20 July 2009
Education Conversation
The summer is flying by and for me, that means only one thing-college is close. With college comes decisions and as I am moving out I wonder how my relationship is going to fare under the long-distance, new college-friend jealousy (on his part) and lack of time due to assignments and all the other collegey things that I am so anticipating.
I truly cannot wait. I have to wait till the 13th of August for my faithful results which basically determine the next 4 years of my life. If I do well- it's Trinity for me, if I do ok- NUI Galway and if I do shambolically- it will be an ordinary degree in Humanities from Carlow and/or Marketing in DIT. Shock horror. I so want to go to Trinity- it's the location,the libraries, the historical and magical presence as you walk through the arches, the alumni, I would just be honoured to go there. I wouldn't be devastated to go to Galway as it's a beautiful and vibrant city but the degree there isn't great. Aha yes what I'll actually be doing. If you think I'm reading too much into which college to go to well choosing which course to enrol in was no walk in the park either, since I'm so indecisive.
First I thought, ok this should be easy enough what subject do I like best in school? But the truth is, I love them all. I love learning, though one part of school I hated was Biology experiments, strangely I preffered the theory. Plugging in bunsen burners and sitting around waiting for a result really got to me. So I could rule out Biology at least.
Over the past year I have participated in countless 'career assessment tests' both in school and independently but I ended up doing so many that I was afraid I was only picking what I thought I should get, that I was influenced by the previous test's results. A really thorough inventory test (sent all the way to Cambridge I may add) showed that I had 7 really strong matches seven. Where most people got two or three I got seven that were almost 100% a match both in interest and suited me academically. From number one to seven- Modern Languages,English/Literary,Communication,Philosophy & Theology,International Studies,Media/Radio/TV/Film and Psychology. My mum hoped that I would come out with Medicine or Engineering. Something stable and concrete that would stand to me in job searching post-college. Nope. Straight the the CAO... mother I'm doing an Arts Degree!
My application has really odd courses on it, when I tell people I want to do Russian I am repeatedly met with 'Russian?! Why?!' 'It's so hard','It's pointless','What job are you going to get with that?!','Do Chinese instead' so much that I dread being asked what I want to do next year. You and your business degree go get stuffed. I want to do what I want to do. I don't know what career I want yet, I'm only 18. I mean I know I like writing,fashion,languages,current affairs,documentaries and learning about society and life. A job that could combine all those ingredients would be great, so for me, an Arts Degree is perfect. Granted I have Business Studies and Russian down on my application but that is because I like business too. I have a friend who is so talented at art, it is her passion yet pressure from her parents and wanting to get a well paid job in her mind led her to enrol in Commerce. She hated the course and failed the year. Thus proving my point. So mother, and all those quick to slate Arts Degrees are you doing what you love or just because you think it's a safe bet for a job? I know that my degree won't open the door to a career straight away but the economy is constantly changing and who knows maybe it's us Arts Students that will be in high demand in 5 years time? Okay it's not probable but I know for the next four years I want to something I'm passionate about no matter how 'pointless' it is!
13 July 2009
Supermogul
It's been quite clear for sometime that Kate Moss has been taking career steps to gradually phase out modelling as the main money-maker in her career. After that cocaine scandal in 2005 and a plethora of bad press, in true Moss fashion she kept her silence and the controversy only made the icon more notorious. The cocaine story only really increased her street cred and made her look more 'rock and roll' something I believe Kate wants. All the style groupies of the sixties Anita Pallenberg,Penny Tree and Marianne Faithfull clearly inspire Kate, with Faithfull even accusing Kate of taking credit for a style not all her own- ‘Now I see pictures of her with a boy who looks like Mick Jagger, and her looking like me. So there was a reason. It’s one of her gigs to do me,’ she told The Times. She continued on to call Kate a 'vampire' who stole her style. Well it looks like Kate is having the last laugh. Instead of replying to Marianne's rant through a press interview in the typical celebrity fashion she kept her silence as ever, and is now making a buck off her style. It seems 'Kate Moss- the brand' is only beginning.
For years die-hard fans like myself, had to feed our Moss addictions through grainy candids and articles. She rarely if ever gave interviews which created a mysterious and unattainable media personality that only left us thirsty for more. Arcadia boss Philip Green just so quenched our fashion thirst by teaming up with fellow Croydonite Kate to produce a collection for high street favourite TOPSHOP.
Just a few months after the release of her perfume 'Kate', hundreds of fashionistas-young and old queued up in their droves outside the many TOPSHOP branches all vying for a piece of Kate or rather, Kate 'inspired' clothes. The first line flew off the shelves and demand for a second collection was already evident. Customers could only buy five items of clothing at a time and many entrepreneurs did just that, whacked them up on ebay that evening to sell to international buyers without access to TOPSHOP, making huge profits. Perhaps it was those incidents that lead Philip Green to start shippping to the USA from Topshop.com which was now garnering hundreds of thousands of hits a day helped by the inclusion of the Kate Moss collection.
The success of international shipping and Kate Moss as a sort of TOPSHOP ambassador made both Philip Green and Kate Moss happy campers. Kate was moving away from modelling and stepping into a more entrepreneurial role. Rimmel London, who she had been the face of for many years hired both Lily Cole and Sophie Ellis-Bextor to model alongside Kate. Longchamp who snapped up Kate right after the cocaine scandal hired Ukrainian model Sasha Pivovarova to star alongside Kate in recent campaigns where before she had shot them alone. So where else was Kate to move from modelling than to designing? Never one to love tv interviews, presenting was out of the question. She knew everything she wore sold out quicker that you can say 'this in a size eight please' so clever Kate called up Philip Green and a match made in retail heaven was born. The Kate Moss for TOPSHOP collection is continually a great sucess. Although criticised for only suiting slim girls (what else would you expect from a Kate Moss collection in fairness) little Miss Business woman Kate started hanging out with Beth Ditto the outlandish and famously large frontwoman of band The Gossip which smartly quietened the gossip rag.
She is very smart indeed. With the new news of the creation of an entertainment empire to rival Disney's spearheaded by Philip Green and Simon Cowell and creative direction provided by Kate hitting the headlines today it seems that the transition from supermodel to supermogul is now complete.
09 July 2009
Shalom dear bloggers..
I'm back! After a brief hiatus, both to finish my second-level education (forever- aaah!!) and a three-week working holiday in Crete I am overflowing with inspiration for posts. Although in my absence any relevant topics are now old news; MJ's death,'It's On With Alexa Chung',the London heatwave etc. I've lots to write about.
Anyway, as an avid list-writer sitting in Gatwick alone with only a trashy novel, the discovery of a rogue pen amongst many feckless objects resulted in me counting up all my euro coins to buy a notebook, something, anything to write on. The huge red sign on the bank desk said NO COMMISSION so I gleefully exchanged my six euros for...£3.13. Leaving Cert Business didn't mention the exchange was this bad. I, the amateur traveller failed to read the smallprint -*on sums larger than £250* So I bought a huge coffee and wrote on the inside cover on my Greek Mythology book instead.
I decided with my newfound freedom upon leaving school and with college life on the horizon I would make a list of all the things I hope to accomplish in the near future. These included many ridiculous (get up no later than 9.30am on weekdays) and necessary (learn French grammar and syntax rules thoroughly) plans. I love planning. As previously mentioned I am an idealist so naturally, making lists and plans for me is as satisfying as a pessimist receiving bad news.
Other plans included;
Anyway, as an avid list-writer sitting in Gatwick alone with only a trashy novel, the discovery of a rogue pen amongst many feckless objects resulted in me counting up all my euro coins to buy a notebook, something, anything to write on. The huge red sign on the bank desk said NO COMMISSION so I gleefully exchanged my six euros for...£3.13. Leaving Cert Business didn't mention the exchange was this bad. I, the amateur traveller failed to read the smallprint -*on sums larger than £250* So I bought a huge coffee and wrote on the inside cover on my Greek Mythology book instead.
I decided with my newfound freedom upon leaving school and with college life on the horizon I would make a list of all the things I hope to accomplish in the near future. These included many ridiculous (get up no later than 9.30am on weekdays) and necessary (learn French grammar and syntax rules thoroughly) plans. I love planning. As previously mentioned I am an idealist so naturally, making lists and plans for me is as satisfying as a pessimist receiving bad news.
Other plans included;
- Make a mood board and style inspiration folder
- Take cookery class/buy cookbook
- Start going on walks (thought gym was too unrealistic)
Clean house everyday- Discover novel way to make money
- Failing sucessful discovery, look for job
- Drink more water
- Update blog regularly and make online contacts
- Be more positive,easier to live with
- Try read one book a week-books of substance,mags don't count.
- Tell somebody something nice/pay a compliment at least once a day for karmic relevance
- Filter crap out of wardrobe, stock up on basics i.e black,white,grey vests,cardis etc.
- Make time for relatives paying special attention to kids and grandparents
- Go to more gigs and discover new bands
- Cultivate my language skills keeping up my Irish and prepping my French for college.
And that was pretty much it.
Last night, at a midweek karaoke session ('Valerie' if you're asking) I was chatting about the aforementioned list with a friend when she admitted to me her and her mum had,the previous night made two cardboards apspiration boards if you like, with cut out photos from magazines of all their goals. Her mum had a picture of a car,a toned stomach and a baby et al. I almost fell off my bar stool at this revelation. Visual lists. Wish me luck finding a picture to represent Gaeilge amongst a sea of Vogues and Elles.
22 May 2009
Whatever Happened To: Gap Ads
The Gap
The Gap Inc. awh Gap or 'The Gap' has kind of fallen off the radar in recent years. Their ads used to be amazing my personal fave was the SJP/Lenny Kravitz one.
Yes the Gap ads were iconic. Christmas time brought festive ads and they used celebrity models in a playful, fun way (apart from that Joss Stone monstrosity-bad move Gap).
Gap is famed for it's 'basics'. It's strengths do not lie in it's dynamic designs- you went to Gap for wardrobe staples- the white shirt, black capris, vests etc. Yet what Gap lacked for in creativity they made up for in their ad campaigns.
Unfortunately, this was a double-edged sword. Heavy spending on promotion and an unfortunate child labour claim meant the nineties brand fell hard. According to my dear friend wikipedia 'Due to lack of a clear message, it has been alleged that Gap has lost contact with its core customers which the company is attempting to win back. Gap is the only national retailer to spend more than 2% of its marketing budget for online marketing'. Ouch.
Interest waned in favour younger,cooler brands like H&M who opened it's first US store in 2000. Many Gap chains have closed. They have had a recent change of management and taken over Banana Republic which is gaining strength among consumers.
Yet all is not lost, Patrick Robinson Gap's head of design says, for spring GAP is all about optimism, bringing on bright colors, stripes, layering with colors and khakis is big this season- different proportions, pant leg and using materials. The spring/summer ‘09 campaign features models Suvi, Shannon, Anja, Sasha Pivovarova, Jessica Stam, Sessilee, Abby Lee, Editha, Du Juan and others. It seems Gap are trying to tap into the twenties/thirties age bracket and the ads aren't bad. But let's be honest a static photo is never going to be as exciting as an unbeatable combination of music and fashion which was so integral to Gap's image. I really miss those adverts they were just so, cool. The past couple years they have taken the artsy, classy route choosing photography over cinematography I recall seeing Anouck Lepere and Jefferson Hack in some Gap ads in black and white wearing their favourite Gap item alongside others.
I'm glad to see they've returned to colour though and let's hope we'll be seeing some new adverts on our tv screens soon.
Just thinking about who they could feature.. to get into the tween market and be current, yet stay true to their Gap identity, an idea could be old/new. Like Miley Cyrus and Annie Lennox, Taylor Swift and Shania Twain or Lady Gaga and David Bowie type duets. Incorporate the past into the present and into the future. Ooh they could pop in designers and models of bygone eras too.
Can you imagine Kate Moss and Lara Stone dancing to Blur and Black Kids?? I'd die happy.
Who would U like to see in a Gap ad?
Girl Crush
Natasha Poly
Okay I have to admit quite a lazy post today folks, but can we just take a minute to worship the powerhouse that is Natasha Poly?? I've had my eye on her for years. I think the fact that she hasn't really hit mainstream in the same way that say, Agyness has, has really done wonders for her longevity. Fronting campaigns such as Gucci last season alongside Freja and Raquel and woah woah woah just clicked over at wikipedia (I know I know not the most reliable source but it's 1.25am on a school night) -she's had nineteen Vogue covers. Granted half are probably the lesser spotted Russian/Chinese Vogues but still not bad going! She is also one of Meisel's muses so you know that's going to be a major advantage. Carine Roitfeld put her on the Paris Vogue (French Vogue?) cover twice consecutively in 2004. According to wiki "Poly earns $70,000 a day shooting advertisements and $28,000 per runway show." Phew.
Natasha is also one of those models you know works hard. I think it's a Soviet thing. You know, very professional, gets the job done attitude. Unlike the N.Campbell's of this world she doesn't give off a diva attitude. She has been a Victoria's Secret Angel (ugh) and also a regular walker at all the top shows- so versatile also.
She's 5ft 10 perfect for print and runway, pin thin of course. She began her career in 2004 as a tanned brunette and is going from strength to strength career-wise. Oh , and her walk is fiiiierce very signature Poly. Recently, the trooper took time out to have fun at Cannes, her brunette locks are now icy blonde her skin is now pale, she looks completely different from her early days (I actually prefer her as a brunette, but I'm no Karl L so I guess I'll just have to live with it).
Behold Natasha..

Which do U prefer??p.s- I really need to invest in Photoshop. Although I would probably be crap at that too.
20 May 2009
Summer-the idealist's fave season?

So yesterday while ahem, 'researching' on the net I came across http://www.theportmanteau.com/2009/04/feeling-heat.html and I couldn't agree more. Summer is vastly approaching, well technically it is summer now but if you live anywhere near my good self you'll agree that it's not summer until Oxegen kicks off and the kiddies get off for their summer holidays.
Ah good summer, when picnics, barbies and festivals are a regular occurence. When money isn't an issue because our lives are so idyllic and romantic we wouldn't need it anyway and when, to paraphrase theportmanteau we all look like Erin Wasson.
When I try to visualise the next few months I see myself pounding the streets of Naas in fringed sandals/gladiators, denim shorts, a casual tucked in shirt or racer back tank and maybe a bit of plaid. Basically Alexander Wang and Balmain fairies will visit my wardrobe at night and drop off gifts in lieu of crap old clothes I've abandoned- a kind of fashion toothfairy if you like.
If you've ever been over at the model street style at the fashion spot you'll know what I'm talking about. Oh but it's not exclusive to clothes, oh no. I will also have the type of skin that make-up only detracts from and hair that is so fabulously unstyled it would leave Vanessa Traina shaking in her Alaias. Yes, I the eternal idealist can dream.
But, until summer really arrives I will stick with reading Keats and trying to learn Russian on youtube.
Guilty Pleasure Confession: Part Une
I was sooo excited for this. Whitney was always my favourite in The Hills and I was looking forward to seeing how they would fit DVF into it. I'm surprised Diane Von F allowed the filming at all, I suppose it's publicity. But still kind of uncool no? I mean MTV ain't really the height of fashion.
Anyway, we see Whitney Port of The Hills move to the city to work at DVF and meet her gaggle of new v.good-looking and trendy mates. Her new lurve interest Jay also features in the show. Its clear her wants a bit of publicity for his band (fair enough) but I do think it's going to damage the aul street cred. Incredibly nonchalant, dirty,carefree and hip- Jay (and his beard) play a gig at an uptown fancy bash only to be slated by rich-kid Nevan. They leave in a huff leaving Nevan to come to the conclusion- "What do you expect from the plaid mafia?". That's the USP (thank you LC business) of this show. You get an insight into this bitchy beautiful world. Utter escapism. This is why it is my guilty pleasure numbero un.
p.s- I understand this post is quite out-dated but felt that The City was such a masterpiece it deserved a mention ;)
Anyway, we see Whitney Port of The Hills move to the city to work at DVF and meet her gaggle of new v.good-looking and trendy mates. Her new lurve interest Jay also features in the show. Its clear her wants a bit of publicity for his band (fair enough) but I do think it's going to damage the aul street cred. Incredibly nonchalant, dirty,carefree and hip- Jay (and his beard) play a gig at an uptown fancy bash only to be slated by rich-kid Nevan. They leave in a huff leaving Nevan to come to the conclusion- "What do you expect from the plaid mafia?". That's the USP (thank you LC business) of this show. You get an insight into this bitchy beautiful world. Utter escapism. This is why it is my guilty pleasure numbero un.
p.s- I understand this post is quite out-dated but felt that The City was such a masterpiece it deserved a mention ;)
23 February 2009
Beauty Trends to wear NOW
S/S 09 Beauty Trends at a glance
Colour:- Blue-green eyeshadow,fuschia lips seen at Gucci & Hussein Chalayan. Quite a wearable trend. Try working the lipstick a la Cheryl Cole. Instead of covering the entire lid with blue shadow take an angled brush and line your top lids with it for an easy take on the trend!
Bright eyes: Inner corners highlighted with silver white shadow. Messy hair and natural skin add to the overall magical feel of this trend. Try smudge Benefit's Mr Frosty pencil http://www.benefitcosmetics.com/gp/product/B000FBLTI6/sr=1-12/qid=1235424777/ref=sr_1_12/175-6812580-1829616?ie=UTF8&n=164991011&bcBrand=core in inner corners and some dry shampoo (try Batiste) to get that matte hair. Perfect with spring dresses. As seen below left at Giorgio Armani s/s 09.
Ladylike hair: (Above right at YSL s/s 09)
Slightly futuristic and reminiscent of a Narciso Rodriguez collection a few years back, this ladylike ballerina hair look is sexy and pretty. It would look great in the office or at a party. Lots of backcombing and Elnett hairspray needed and a plain barette which can be found easily enough, try your local pharmacy. I think it would look great with a classic white shirt or florals which are all over the high street and red carpets at the moment.
Happy Experimenting!
Oscars 09
The Oscars- they've happened- yay! I stayed up last night like a loser to watch the arrivals live on E! with The Seacrest (simultaneously flicking over to Sky One-Fearne you did a great job!-nice gig!). It was a great night for fashion, though I feel the economic downturn has had an effect, the make-up was quite subdued and there were so many neutral dresses. Many of the guests turned up fashionably late of course, which meant many were hurried in before they got a proper red-carpet moment.
All eyes were on Brangelina (as usual) and I was left literally speechless when they entered the Kodak Theatre. Angelina looking regal and classic in an Elie Saab LBD added a flash of colour with amazing teardrop emerald earrings. Brad looked equally stunning. Some of my fashion highlights were Natalie Portman in Rodarte (left)-though I felt the waist cut of the dress was a bit, off. I would of preffered a longer or shorter midsection. Still, a knockout.
Tilda Swinton- always rocks it. I hate it when she's put on the "Worst Dressed List" what ever happened to celebrating origanality? Fair enough her outfit would have been catastrophic on Winslet or Beyoncé but with her androgyny, height and porcelain skin she totally pulled it off!
Other style winners for me included Marion Cotilliard,Anne Hathaway (though overshadowed by the fact there was so many similar dresses) and SJP's "barely mint" Dior Haute Couture gown. Did anyone notice how SJP seemed to be trying so hard to put them divorce rumours with MB to rest? Arm-touching here, adoring glance here it seemed a bit showy..hhmm. Wasn't too hot on Marisa Tomei's outfit choice. The colour washed her out. Miley Cyrus' dress I hated. The dress wasn't that bad but that belt?? Arghh!! Didn't like Kate Winslet's YSL dress. Taraji P.Henson had to be styled by Rachel Zoe the whole outfit screamed Zoe (in a good way,she looked fabulous) Thought Mickey Rourke looked cool in his white suit and how sweet was his dead doggy pic necklace? Frieda Pinto is fast emerging as a one-to-watch on the fashion scene, she's so beautiful too so that helps. Beyonce's dress was almost offensive as was Sophia Loren's-but hey she's Sophia Loren so she gets let off this time. Would have loved to been there maybe one day...
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
