05 November 2010

2 New Girl Crushes: Carey Mulligan, Megan Fox. Who wins?



Carey Mulligan as Jenny in 'An Education'
An Education is one of my favourite movies, I've watched it loads and never have I gotten bored of it. I can identify with Mulligan's character- her fervent desire to experience life outside academia, her obsession with all things Francais and her frustration with her age. It's also a superb performance. But onto why I love Carey;
Exhibit A:
If I ever became famous (not that I want to be-at all) I would like to be her kind of famous. Revered for her talent, humble (seemingly anyway) and naturally gorgeous.

Exhibit B:
Her style. The fact that her red-carpet choices are obviously constructed by a stylist makes her even cooler for some reason. Like that she is serious about acting - and not becoming just tabloid fodder. Carey seems like the type of person that doesn't lose sleep over what the papers say about her latest outfit. She isn't a threat, rather somebody to aspire to be like rather than vilify. She's just so... nice. And how can you not like her after seeing the candids of her and Shia together, gazing into each others eyes? They are definitely the cutest couple. Well, not anymore but that doesn't matter.
If she starts shagging half of Hollywood now that would be a problem for me. Carey's appeal lies in her good-girl image. Dare I say she is the new Keira Knightley? I will have to go and see who outshines who (if even) in their next movie together, out soon in Irish cinemas. "Never Let Me Go".

Carey Mulligan at the London premiere of 'Never Let Me Go'

I put this new girl crush to a close friend. We usually agree on GCs (apart from her ardent hatred for Katy Perry but I'm not mad about her either) and she doesn't see the fuss about Carey.
I couldn't be the only one?? Especially since my next target is anti-everything that CM stands for.
Low and behold Ms. Megan Fox.

Now this is going to contradict the reasons why I love Carey but it's not Carey so I don't think it matters. And before you roll your eyelids at the mere suggestion that Megan is crush worthy hear me out, or rather read me out.

Exhibit A:
She's shit hot. Apologies for the bluntness but I'm not writing a column for The Independent here. I know that plastic surgery has been very involved in Megan's transformation from child actress to mega star, but that gives us ordinaries hope! If she can go from average to absoloutely stunning well can't we all? She's tattooed which I think suits her and is different to all the blonde perfect 'butter wouldn't melt' actresses. Plus I'm not jealous of her, which is why I think a lot of women don't like her, envious maybe but not jealous. Differentiate.

Exhibit B:
You never see pap photos of her looking coked-out and she's been dating (albeit on and off) Brian Austin Green of 90210 'fame' for ages now. I believe they're married. Her body is literally perfection and who cares if she has fake boobs, she seems comfortable in her skin and her daytime attire is very low-key. Flip-flops, gym trousers/jeans,t-shirts are usually what she is photographed in. She also doesn't seem to starve herself. The gym clothes suggest she works at it. Fair play. I find that the frail/'trying hard to look skinny' look really off-putting. This is why I don't fancy Alexa anymore. Don't get me wrong Megan is probably nothing over a UK size 8, (if even) it's just she doesn't look like a strong gust of wind will blow her over. I basically would love to look like her. And sure if it's all fake well then where's the threat in that?


To conclude, I think the reason why I like the two of them however different they may appear is that they both seem self-assured and confident which is definitely something to aspire to.

Lara
x

19 October 2010

Beautiful Tats







Add caption






My thoughts on "The Social Network"

Jesse Eisenberg, Justin Timberlake, Andrew Garfield.
Facebook is on everyone's lips these days. It's co-founder Mark Zuckerberg has just had a movie released about it's enormous explosion into 500 million computer users lives worldwide. The Social Network starts Justin Timberlake among others and I thought it was really entertaining. Zuckerberg is the central character and he is an interesting one at that. I was skeptical of the movie, I thought it would be just another money-making scheme by brand facebook but it was more than that. Inspiring, he is great role model for young people. He makes being a nerd cool and proves that hard work and passion are at the epicentre of success. I honestly wanted to study immediately after I saw it (no easy feat).



Intelligent, driven and strong-minded his rise from social outcast to the world's youngest ever billionaire is, however, not without problems. With money and success comes power, and people will do almost anything to get a slice of the cake. Two lawsuits against Zuckerberg serve as the films anchor, with flashbacks to pivotal moments in facebooks creation providing the really for lack of a better word- juicy bits. It is not all about business though, there is humour including a very funny story including a chicken (!). The cinema was in Cineworld Parnell St. Dublin and it was packed full of cinemagoers. They say the sign of a good movie is how little people move about in their seats and there was very little movement going on. I was disappointed at myself for drinking a massive cup of coke and subsequently missing out on some of it to run to the loos.


Jesse Eisenberg is great as Mark Zuckerberg- he makes a difficult character likeable. Andrew Garfield plays Eduardo co-founder of facebook. He is good in it too, there's a bit of Oscar buzz surrounding him. I still remember him from Sugar Rush playing Dale, Kim's neighbour.

The cinematography is nice but nothing phenomenal, the shots of Harvard are beautiful (though they weren't actually filmed on site). I would rate this movie as a good date movie. Not romantic but feel-good, funny and enthralling. I would 'like' it a thousand times. :)